The unseen Paul VI: an introvert who wore chains beneath his robes

On October 4th, 1965, I met Blessed Pope Paul VI on the steps of St. Patrick’s Cathedral in NYC. I was a young man working for U.P.I. News

and stood near him and Cardinal Spellman on the church steps. Later  I attended the Mass at Yankee Stadium and received a Holy Card with the Pope’s image on it. I cherish these memories because I certainly wouldn’t be a Deacon if Pope Paul VI did not approve the restoration of the Permanent Diaconate on June 18, 1967. I always felt he was a holy man and is certainly in heaven and this review of a new book about him helps my belief! Bl. Pope Paul VI, pray for us!

I think history will judge Paul VI more kindly than his contemporaries. Archbishop Fisichella’s book has reminded me to pray to him and for a second miracle to aid his canonization.

History will judge Blessed Paul kindly, for his courage and his deep prayerfulness

Read more here:

Source: The unseen Paul VI: an introvert who wore chains beneath his robes | CatholicHerald.co.uk

Leave a Reply

