THE PSALTER OF THE BLESSED VIRGIN MARY BY ST. BONAVENTURE – PSALM XXIX

[Wikipedia] Duccio, Madonna of the Franciscans, ca 1280, the earliest known painting of the subject.

[Wikipedia] Duccio, Madonna of the Franciscans, ca 1280, the earliest known painting of the subject.

PSALM XXIX

I will exalt thee, O Lady, for thou hast taken me up: thou wilt deliver me
from the wicked enemy.

Turn to me and quicken me, from the gates of death lead me back: and from
the rivers of tribulation which have surrounded me.

For the sake of thy empire and the magnificence of thy right hand: break
and scatter all my enemies.

And I will offer thee a sacrifice of praise: and I will most devoutly exalt
thy glory.

Rejoice, ye Heavens, and be glad, O Earth: because Mary will console her
servants and will have mercy on her poor.

Glory be to the Father, etc.

Leave a Reply

