ASK FATHER: Baptizing with the name “Lucifer”. | Fr. Z’s Blog

Here’s a good lesson about baptism for us who do baptisms:

“You named me WHAT?!?”

From a priest…

QUAERITUR:

I recently encountered a situation in ministry that previously was the stuff of theory or anecdote only.

A parent has given his still unbaptized toddler the middle name “Lucifer.” The parent claims that even though Lucifer fell, he was still “God’s favorite” angel and that the name was chosen for that and no sinister occult reason. Based on a previous priest’s alleged refusal to approve the child’s baptism the parent had the impression he must legally change the middle name in order to baptize (something he is not willing to do). I told the parent that I would consider baptism but (a) I would not baptize using the name Lucifer; (b) that he would need to choose a saint’s name in place of Lucifer; and (c) I can only strongly encourage him to cease using the middle name with the child if he is seriously making a decision for Christ and Christ’s reign on behalf of his child.

Read more here:

Source: ASK FATHER: Baptizing with the name “Lucifer”. | Fr. Z’s Blog

