The good witness of not receiving Communion

The Last Supper by Juan de Juanes, painted in 1562

The following comes from a December 7 Catholic Stand article by David Roney:

Last year, I found myself in a terrible position. It was a Sunday morning and I was preparing to take my kids to Mass. The problem was that I believed I needed to go to Confession prior to receiving the Eucharist. That was cause enough for anxiety, as no one wants their soul outside a state of grace. Add to that the fact that my kids had never seen me skip Communion before, and I was doubly stressed.

As a dad who wants to provide excellent Catholic witness to his then 12 & 14-year-olds, I was deeply conflicted about what to do. Do I receive the Eucharist and avoid having to tell my kids I have sinned, and of course avoid the relentlessly judging eyes of my fellow parishioners – few of whom I had noticed ever skipping Communion? Or, do I listen to my little voice, albeit one with a zealous scrupulosity meter, and skip Communion until I have been to Confession?

Read more here:

via The good witness of not receiving Communion

Holy Communion. Esperanto: Sankta komunio.

Holy Communion. Esperanto: Sankta komunio. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Leave a Reply

