Consecration of Russia: Has it been done?

Tribulation Times

Pfärrich (Gemeinde Amtzell), Pfarr- und Wallfa...

Pfärrich (Gemeinde Amtzell), Pfarr- und Wallfahrtskirche Mariä Geburt Marienstatue aus Fatima, Mitte 20. Jh. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

May 19, 2016

(1Jn 4:1-3) Dearly beloved, believe not every spirit, but try the spirits if they be of God: because many false prophets are gone out into the world. By this is the spirit of God known. Every spirit which confesseth that Jesus Christ is come in the flesh is of God: And every spirit that dissolveth Jesus is not of God. And this is Antichrist, of whom you have heard that he cometh: and he is now already in the world.

FROM THE ARCHIVESHas Russia Been Consecrated to the Immaculate Heart of Mary? by Rev. J.L. Iannuzzi, STD, Ph.D. (original PDF version link)

MORE VIA FR. IANNUZZI: On the 1984 Russia Consecration, who is right Sr. Lucia or Fr. Gobbi?

I was asked to reply to the following question:

If the consecration of Russia was accomplished, why did Fr. Gobbi say it was not ? Here are some passages from his locutions.

287. I ask for consecration from everyone March 25, 1984 — The Feast of the Annunciation of Our Lady
Yes, I myself made my will known at Fatima, when I appeared in 1917. I asked it many times of my daughter Lucia, who is on earth to fulfil this mission which I entrusted to her. In these years I have insistently asked for it, through the message entrusted to my Movement of Priests. Today I ask it anew, I ask once more for consecration to my Immaculate Heart by all men. I ask it, first of all, of Pope John Paul II, the first of my beloved sons, who is carrying it out in a solemn way on the occasion of this feast, after writing to the Bishops of the world to do this in union with him. Sadly, the invitation has not been welcomed by all the Bishops. Particular circumstances have not yet allowed the express consecration to me of Russia, which I have asked for many times. As I have already told you, this consecration will be made to me, when the bloody events are already in train.

298. My Urgent Invitation November 14, 1984 — Seagrass (Yugoslavia)
If the human race does not welcome My motherly invitation to come back to the Lord, it will be inevitably lost. For this reason I repeat to you again, with this My heartfelt message: “Walk along the road of your return to the Lord. Be converted because, still for a little while, this is the favourable time of conversion. Be converted and return to your God.
From here, through you, I bless all My children who live in these Nations, so loved and protected by Me because they have to bear great trials and sufferings: those of Yugoslavia, Albania, Bulgaria, Rumania, Hungary, Czechoslovakia, East Germany, Poland, Russia and the whole world, which I wish to enclose as soon as possible within the sure refuge of my Immaculate Heart. (…)”

351. What an abyss you have fallen into! May 13, 1987 — Milan
My request that Russia be consecrated to me by the Pope, together with all the bishops has not been accepted and thus she has spread her errors in every part of the world.

356. This Marian Year June 10, 1987 — Ottawa (Canada)
This request of mine finds its practical fulfilment in My Marian Movement of Priests, which I myself am making and spreading to every part of the World, in order to call everyone to the consecration desired and requested by Me. It is My motherly and earnest desire that, during the Marian Year, the work of my Priestly Movement be officially accepted with joy and gratitude by the Church. Then it has a particular importance for the unfolding of the great events which were foretold to you by Me if during this year, My request, made to My daughter Sister Lucia of Fatima, for Russia to be consecrated to Me by the Pope with all the Bishops of the world, is satisfied at last. During this year, I am calling on all My children for a general intercession for My motherly help in My numerous sanctuaries scattered in every part of the earth. Let this be accompanied also by personal and community works of penance and reparation for the grave individual and social sins which are increasingly being committed. Then I promise that, in this Marian Year, I myself will intervene to fulfil part of what I have foretold and which, for the moment, is still kept in secret and in silence.

425. I am Coming Down from Heaven Fatima (Portugal), May 13, 1990
Russia has not been consecrated to me by the Pope together with all the bishops and thus has not received the grace of conversion, and has spread her errors throughout all parts of the world, provoking wars, violence, bloody revolutions and persecutions of the Church and of the Holy Father.

In response, consider the following locution (received on several occasions and in varied ways) of Fr. Gobbi (Message 532): “I [Mary] confirm to you that, by the great jubilee of the year two thousand, there will take place the triumph of my Immaculate Heart, of which I foretold you at Fatima, and this will come to pass with the return of Jesus in glory, to establish his Reign in the world. Thus you will at last be able to see with your own eyes the new heavens and the new earth” (To The Priests, Our Lady’s Beloved Sons, U.S. National Headquarters of the MMP [1995], 893).

This prophecy did not occur. Does that make Fr. Gobbi a fake? By no means. Having devoted much of my life to the writings of the mystics, one sobering truth that emerges is that nearly all mystics make mistakes in their writings (many formal – grammar – and few substantial – doctrine). This includes Catherine of Siena, Luisa Piccarreta, Fr. Gobbi, etc. The question is why? I wrote an article in answer to this question some time ago (see attachment #1).

Point is, I believe Fr. Gobbi was mistaken about the consecration of Russia not being accomplished because, a) The primary source personally entrusted by Mary with the task of having the Pope

English: VATICAN CITY. A meeting with Pope Joh...

English: VATICAN CITY. A meeting with Pope John Paul II. Русский: ВАТИКАН. Встреча с Папой Римским Иоанном Павлом II. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

consecrate Russia was not Fr. Gobbi, but Sr. Lucia who, with her own hand and free of any constraints, affirmed that the consecration was indeed done and she affirmed this more than once (see attachment #2). Second, unlike Sr. Lucia, Fr. Gobbi did had enjoy any supernatural visions or apparitions, but locutions (in which no supernatural entity is present) and which, he affirmed, must be discerned with time. The determination of whether a locution is from a supernatural source of from one’s own personal meditation is a very delicate matter and the subject of the locution may sometimes confuse the two. For more info. on how God reveals himself through visions, locutions, etc. I refer you to Joseph Cardinal Ratzinger’s article on the 3rd secret of Fatima (cf. https://www.crossroadsinitiative.com/media/articles/third-secret-fatima-joseph-cardinal-ratzinger/).

In sum, I believe it is correct to affirm that the “fruits” of the March 25, 1984 consecration of Russia, which Sr. Lucia affirms was “made” and “accomplished” as requested by Mary whom she personally saw, touched and heard, were not manifest until years later (see attachment #2). It is in this sense that I understand Fr. Gobbi’s affirmations of the consecration not being done. I believe he was an authentic locutionist, but, as noted above, not all of his locutions were properly expressed by him and this for reason noted in the attached article #1.

My opinion is that the Consecration of Russia has not been done as Our Lady requested at Fatima and that’s why Communism is not dead but spreading throughout the world as more and more atheistic policies and laws are implemented and Christians are persecuted and martyred. I also believe, as Our Lady said, it will be done when things look hopeless, and then an Era of Peace will be granted to the world. I continue to pray for this to be fulfilled!

Deacon John   

Leave a Reply

