Greenpointer’s March Up Fifth Ave. Will Be Her Proudest Moment

Here’s a story of an 86 year old lady who will march in this years St. Patrick’s Day Parade.

From Flickr.com

My own experience in marching up 5th Ave. was when I was a Boy Scout and was proudly selected to carry the American Flag. Well, it was a very windy March 17th, that year, and the march almost killed me! I had just recuperated from being sick from Rheumatic Fever and had spent months in the hospital and convalescent camps shaking this disease from my young body. I really should not have been picked to carry the Flag, let alone march that day. But I did and I’ve been proud of it all my life. It even inspired me to enlist in the Navy a few years later when I was 17. God bless Virginia “Gina” Sheehan, Grand Marshal at the New York City St. Patrick’s Day Parade for this year.

Lifelong Greenpoint resident and St. Anthony of Pauda parishioner Virginia “Gina” Sheehan is this year’s Kings County Aide to the Grand Marshal at the New York City St. Patrick’s Day Parade

Read more here:

Source: Greenpointer’s March Up Fifth Ave. Will Be Her Proudest Moment – The Tablet

Leave a Reply

